lizard_of_aus: (Default)
[personal profile] lizard_of_aus posting in [community profile] scans_daily

SO...just under a year ago, I began a series of scans from the comic books adapting the first two books in Terry Pratchett's magnificent Discworld series. I got to the end of the first book, started putting the next one off, and eventually forgot it entirely. However, currently April the 8th is upon us, and it's just about still Terry Pratchett day, so I figured why not finish what I started and give the seminal stories the send-off they deserve?

When last we left our less-than-intrepid heroes, Rincewind the Wizzard and Twoflower the Tourist had just literally fallen off the face of the earth. But now, a mysterious force awakens, to plop the pair right back on the disc for reasons yet unknown...

However, the gods are as puzzled as anyone else, and when every other means of scrying turns out fruitless, the wizards begin the unthinkable Rite of Ashk-Ente.

Meanwhile, Twoflower and Rincewind find themselves back on the disk, and after some strange encounters with talking trees, a gingerbread house and bickering attempted assassins, they head into the sky on a broomstick, to find all the stars replaced by one ominous red orb. One panicked plummet later...

Date: 2017-04-08 11:24 pm (UTC)
From: [personal profile] scorntx
People say Mort is where Pratchett really became good, and it is definitely good (though, personal aside, I might be biased because it's the one that got me into Discworld in the first place. Well, fully, at any rate.) but The Light Fantastic shows he was already showing signs of Marked Improvement from Colour of Magic (which itself wasn't terrible).

(As another aside, it's a shame this doesn't have Death's line about getting back to the party.
I think it might go downhill very quickly at midnight... that's when they think I'll be taking my mask off.)

Date: 2017-04-09 11:27 pm (UTC)
icon_uk: (Default)
From: [personal profile] icon_uk
As someone who was reading these from the very first one, I'd say that Mort was the first one which wasn't busy spoofing other series very directly (compare to the Dragonriders of Pern parody) and had a real narrative of it's own, but the worldbuilding in The Colour of Magic and The Light Fantastic is superb, especially in the establishing of magic as something powerful, but usually more trouble than it's worth and, of course, DEATH.

I think the first two suffer due to Rincewind, who is a fine character for establishing the world, but as an avowed coward with no intention of being anything other than that because it's kept him alive this long, is hard to care about TOO much.

Date: 2017-04-10 05:50 pm (UTC)
mesmiranda: (Default)
From: [personal profile] mesmiranda
IMHO I feel like the first ten books or so, minus Mort and Guards, Guards!, are skippable for this reason--they feel like extended comic riffs (let's do a pastiche of Shakespeare/ancient Egypt/old Hollywood!) rather than actual stories with fully rounded characters. They're not bad--an okay book by Terry Pratchett is a good book by anybody else's standards--but for me, Reaper Man is where the series really starts to pick up in terms of depth and emotion.

Rincewind works for one book, maybe two, but when you put him up against Vimes and Granny Weatherwax and Death and Moist von Lipwig, I feel like it becomes clear why Terry demoted him to extra in later books.
Edited Date: 2017-04-10 05:51 pm (UTC)

Date: 2017-04-08 11:29 pm (UTC)
bradygirl_12: (clark--bruce (brooding))
From: [personal profile] bradygirl_12
Maybe if computer experts wrote manuals that weren't complete gibberish, more people would read them.

Date: 2017-04-08 11:32 pm (UTC)
From: [personal profile] scorntx
But then where would demons get inspiration for their labyrinthine contracts from?

Date: 2017-04-09 09:43 am (UTC)
janegray: (Default)
From: [personal profile] janegray
This looks really great :D

I will probably have to skip the next parts because I plan on reading these books eventually (it's probably gonna get me a long time, but...), and I'm incredibly spoilerphobic. But really I enjoyed this post :)

Date: 2017-04-09 03:47 pm (UTC)
From: [personal profile] zachbeacon
Wouldn't worry too much about spoilers. The Night Watch (and maybe Witches) books are the only ones that are all that continuity heavy. With the Rincewind books all you really need to know is that the first two books (Color of Magic and Light Fantastic) are a single story; I'm pretty sure you can read the others in any order.

But I started with Hogfather and that's pretty deep into the Death books so what do I know?

Date: 2017-04-09 06:12 pm (UTC)
beoweasel: (Default)
From: [personal profile] beoweasel
The stories with Susan have a continuity to them, starting with Soul Music, Hogfather, and Thief of Time (not sure if we should count Mort and Reaper Man in that list, because Susan isn't in either of them.)

Date: 2017-04-09 07:01 pm (UTC)
From: [personal profile] zachbeacon
Yeah but I was able to follow the Hogfather just fine even though it's in the middle of Susan's story and the toward the end of Death's.

Besides, a Terry Pratchett story is still enjoyable if you know where it's going. The Moist books tend to really telegraph the endings (spoiler: Moist does what the Patrician tells him to at the beginning of the book) but the fun part is seeing how the characters get there.

Date: 2017-04-09 11:35 pm (UTC)
icon_uk: (Default)
From: [personal profile] icon_uk
EVERYBODY does what the Patrician tells them to do at the beginning of the book, because A) the people he picks are those who are good at the job, whether they know it or not and more importantly B) failure to do so would... disappoint His Lordship.


Date: 2017-04-09 11:33 pm (UTC)
icon_uk: (Default)
From: [personal profile] icon_uk
Well, not quite, there is a deal of character continuity and growth in certain of the books, but since they don't cross over too often, it's by broad category (and anything involving Ankh Morpork, which grew and developed more than just about anything else thanks to the Patricians plans.)

The Watch books have it

The Witches books have it (The progression of Magrat) and then the Tiffany Aching books pretty much have to be read in order.

The Susan and DEATH books have it

The Moist Von Lipwig books have it.


scans_daily: (Default)
Scans Daily


Founded by girl geeks and members of the slash fandom, [community profile] scans_daily strives to provide an atmosphere which is LGBTQ-friendly, anti-racist, anti-ableist, woman-friendly and otherwise discrimination and harassment free.

Bottom line: If slash, feminism or anti-oppressive practice makes you react negatively, [community profile] scans_daily is probably not for you.

Please read the community ethos and rules before posting or commenting.

October 2017

1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 2425262728

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags