colonel_green: (Default)
colonel_green ([personal profile] colonel_green) wrote in [community profile] scans_daily2010-04-08 03:07 pm

Will Eisner is not pleased.

The nominees for the 2010 Eisner Awards have been announced. Many deserving, some inexplicable.


The full list of nominees.

Looking over some the major categories:

Best Single Issue (or One-Shot)
  • Brave & the Bold #28: "Blackhawk and the Flash: Firing Line," by J. Michael Straczynski and Jesus Saiz (DC)
  • Captain America #601: "Red, White, and Blue-Blood," by Ed Brubaker and Gene Colan (Marvel)
  • Ganges #3, by Kevin Huizenga (Fantagraphics)
  • The Unwritten #5: "How the Whale Became," by Mike Carey and Peter Gross (Vertigo/DC)
  • Usagi Yojimbo #123: "The Death of Lord Hikiji" by Stan Sakai (Dark Horse)

A rather eclectic group here. I like Captain America getting a nomination, but #601 is a really odd choice. I'm guessing Gene Colan's name drew the attention. The Unwritten #5 (the Rudyard Kipling issue) is the best issue of these, I think, and given the critics' love of Vertigo, probably the likely winner.

Best Continuing Series
  • Fables, by Bill Willingham, Mark Buckingham, Steve Leialoha, Andrew Pepoy et al. (Vertigo/DC)
  • Irredeemable, by Mark Waid and Peter Krause (BOOM!)
  • Naoki Urasawa's 20th Century Boys, by Naoki Urasawa (VIZ Media)
  • The Unwritten, by Mike Carey and Peter Gross (Vertigo/DC)
  • The Walking Dead, by Robert Kirkman and Charles Adlard (Image)

I read the the two Vertigo titles here in trade, both very good. Heavy representation of the minor imprints and publishers here.

Best Limited Series or Story Arc
  • Blackest Night, by Geoff Johns, Ivan Reis, and Oclair Albert (DC)
  • Incognito, by Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips (Marvel Icon)
  • Pluto: Urasawa X Tezuka, by Naoki Urasawa and Takashi Nagasaki (VIZ Media)
  • Wolverine #66-72 and Wolverine Giant-Size Special: "Old Man Logan," by Mark Millar, Steve McNiven, and Dexter Vines (Marvel)
  • The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, by Eric Shanower and Skottie Young (Marvel)

would get my vote; strong showing from Marvel/Icon in this category.

Best Writer
  • Ed Brubaker, Captain America, Daredevil, Marvels Project (Marvel) Criminal, Incognito (Marvel Icon)
  • Geoff Johns, Adventure Comics, Blackest Night, The Flash: Rebirth, Superman: Secret Origin (DC)
  • James Robinson, Justice League: Cry for Justice (DC)
  • Mark Waid, Irredeemable, The Incredibles (BOOM!)
  • Bill Willingham, Fables (Vertigo/DC)

Best Writer/Artist
  • Darwyn Cooke, Richard Stark's Parker: The Hunter (IDW)
  • R. Crumb, The Book of Genesis Illustrated (Norton)
  • David Mazzuccheilli, Asterios Polyp (Pantheon)
  • Terry Moore, Echo (Abstract Books)
  • Naoki Urasawa, Naoki Urasawa's 20th Century Boys, Pluto: Urasawa X Tezuka (VIZ Media)

Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team
  • Michael Kaluta, Madame Xanadu #11-15: "Exodus Noir" (Vertigo/DC)
  • Steve McNiven/Dexter Vines, Wolverine: Old Man Logan (Marvel)
  • Fiona Staples, North 40 (WildStorm)
  • J. H. Williams III, Detective Comics (DC)
  • Danijel Zezelj, Luna Park (Vertigo/DC)

It was for a good cause, Roy.

[personal profile] taggerung301 2010-04-08 09:19 pm (UTC)(link)
hey now, don't go hatin' on Forrest . . .
punishermax: (Default)

[personal profile] punishermax 2010-04-08 09:25 pm (UTC)(link)
FG should have never even been a nominee much less a winner over Pulp Fiction.

[personal profile] taggerung301 2010-04-08 10:25 pm (UTC)(link)
imho Forrest Gump was very much qualified to be a nominee, and although Pulp Fiction was an extraordinary movie, I feel that Gump definitely deserved Best Picture

but to each their own