I can't help but think that Clark's dialog is a direct shot at Injustice.
And I can only assume Diana's last line was followed up with "Besides, we're both adults. Hell, I'm more adult than the rest of the team put together. Unless we're making sex tapes, what business is it of the League's or yours?"
After that, Batman says that he isn't worried and is happy for them, but warns them that people who don't know them as well as he does will see the union of the two most powerful people on the planet as a threat.
I can see the Injustice comparisons starting to come in, but I do think this is done a lot better. Both Clark, Diana, and Bruce are right to a certain extent.
The whole issue sorta had the "first issue of an arc" syndrome where it's just setting up the interesting things, but I am honestly really interested and sort-of excited to see where this arc is going and where Trinity War takes things.
He's descended from Lois and Clark's offspring, but so far removed from the two that he gets none of the Superperks that would come with being related to Clark? *shrug*
Well not like people in politics and PR can't screw up. I think what is worst is that they thought the rest of the League wouldn't suspect let alone know about their relationship. That is kinda insulting.
Diana isn't an ambassador in the DCnU I think. More a representative of her people in relation to the US government than someone who regularly appears at the UN to negoiate peace deals.
Does Wonder Woman really talk like that? She isn't even as banal in Azzarello's WW (which is supposed to be the same Diana). Sometimes I can't really tell if Johns is a bad writer of dialogue or his heart's not into this whole Diana/Superman "romance". Probably a bit of both?
For the one handling the heavy lifting and introducing this "long-term romance" that is being sold as the biggest thing to ever hit DC, he's writing this couple as romantic as a lead balloon. Heck, Johns has given Superman more chemistry with Batman.
True. Another problem I have with it. It seems to just be happening because it justifies covers that certain fanboys can jerk off to. And for no other organic reason. But then, there's also that the Superman we see in JL is not a very warm or relatable character. He hasn't come off like an intelligent being once in the whole book, certainly far less so than in ACTION or others. I'm reminded of how he came off as a bully when first introduced. I haven't seen him improve much in this book since. He almost seems a supporting character in this book--while AQUAMAN, who Johns seems to want us to think is the greatest superhero ever--has come off as its star.
As for Diana, from the start too, I haven't seen any resemblance between the one Johns writes and the one Azzarello does. Remember when SHE was first introduced in this book, walking around waving her sword in front of people and marveling at this "iced cream" we mortals like? She was like a less Dworkinesque version of ASBAR's WW. Or like the mermaid from SPLASH with a sword.
And poor Steve has been at best an afterthought in both books. In one book she's hooking up with Clark, in another getting all flirty with Orion. Why Diana, you've never been quite so trampy before as these writers are making you seem. ;)
I have a hard time telling if my hate for their relationship is logical hate or because I was full abroad the Batman/WW ship from the JLU cartoon's and morrison's JLA
So Jason is the good son now. Take that dick and Tim. No one runs out on the city being over run by Bat creatures and stopping Bruce from getting down on some mad science.
Yeah in my personal opinion, Batman was the only one of the Trinity who came across as a reasonable adult in this conversation. By contrast, Superman came off being very naive while Wonder Woman sounded like an entitled brat. And even though Batman says he's okay with them seeing one another, it's as if Geoff Johns, through him, is also pointing out to readers exactly why a relationship between Superman and Wonder Woman will ultimately never work in the long-term. Hence his underscoring how Clark and Diana were so caught up in "letting things happen" as far as their romance was concerned that they never once gave a second thought about the possible ramifications. I wouldn't be surprised if, at the end of the Trinity War, Superman decides that Batman is right in saying his actions reflect the rest of the Justice League and decides to go solo and break-up with Wonder Woman "for the good of the team."
That may be where he's going with this, or something like it. It certainly doesn't seem to work.
What I want to know is, where went Johns' ability to write Superman? Because it hasn't been exhibited in the whole run of this series. Or rather, that he doesn't seem to be able to connect with THIS version of Superman. Then again, he shares that with, well, most people. This version of Superman is most notable for having very little for the reader OR creator to connect with because a lot of what makes him Superman in most people's minds has been thrown out. The decision to make him more "alien" was not a good one for this reason. A more alien Superman is not a friendly Superman.
Personally I think having him with Diana rather than Lois simply removes one of this Clark's few connections with actual humanity and sets up a fairly solidified elite. It may get the fanboys hot and bothered, but I think it's kind of stupid.
When your best reason for being with a human woman is 'it'll make me feel more connected to your race', then you're doing it wrong.
That, should in no way, be why he has a connection with humanity. He was raised, and might as well have been born on earth, with two incredibly loving human parents, that are too good to be true, he went to school, interacted with others his whole life. His situation is why he should feel connected to the human race. Because he essentially is when we look over his powers. He's not exactly Martian Manhunter.
Yes his powers will definitely make him feel a disconnect from his human brethren, but only so more than any other ultra powerful superhero to be honest. There are a lot more humans out there that have grown with a lot less that he did that still feel the 'connection' with humanity despite their trials.
I understand a lot of fans and writers agree with your stance though, but I just don't see it being as big of an issue as it's made out to be. Disconnect can be there, but it shouldn't be so grossly strong that him dating Wonder Woman would make that disconnect become removal.
Hell... the guy does need a lot more human friends though.
I have to be honest..after all the hype and fan shipping..Superman/Wonder Woman is coming off rather..dull to me. Don't really see the chemistry and again it really puts me off how she just hooks up with Supes right after the shit that went down with Steve Trevor, who I have to admit is one of the few things I like in the reboot as I find him rather likeable and like that he tries to look out for the heroes. Anyway still, felt too quick.
As for Batman, as others said he does come off as the one making the most sense by far and I have to ask, why the hell are Supes and Wondy keeping their relationship a secret? Who are they worried is going to find out? If they feel that they have to hide it then why be together? That's a bad sign.
On a side note, I also think I detect a hint of jealousy on Batman's part too. I'm still a Batman/WW shipper so that's my side. For the slashers out there, you know he has eyes for Supes.
... I don't know what it is, but something about Red Hood's lines doesn't quite sit with me. Feeling angry at himself for not realizing an enemy was nearby and therefore Alfred got hurt? That's normal. But fearing that Bruce is disappointed in him like he's some sort of guilty little kid? Fwuh?
But then again, the last RHATO issue had Jason crying over how he 'failed' Batman, so apparently Jason IS an ashamed little kid. >:/
How could any experienced reporter not grasp that all of this -- their going to Kahndaq and their relationship itself -- will have real-world implications? I feel like Clark Kent is not even in this book.
I'd like to point out that the stolen item was a box with an S-shield on it, and there was a box for every member of Justice League. I really hope Johns has a twist coming with this, because the last thing I want to read about is another damn Tower of Babel retread.
Founded by girl geeks and members of the slash fandom, scans_daily strives to provide an atmosphere which is LGBTQ-friendly, anti-racist, anti-ableist, woman-friendly and otherwise discrimination and harassment free.
Bottom line: If slash, feminism or anti-oppressive practice makes you react negatively, scans_daily is probably not for you.
no subject
Date: 2013-04-18 06:48 pm (UTC)And I can only assume Diana's last line was followed up with "Besides, we're both adults. Hell, I'm more adult than the rest of the team put together. Unless we're making sex tapes, what business is it of the League's or yours?"
no subject
Date: 2013-04-18 06:57 pm (UTC)Injustice has the benefit of being an alternate universe, at least. What's this Diana's excuse?
(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2013-04-18 07:00 pm (UTC)(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2013-04-18 06:56 pm (UTC)The whole issue sorta had the "first issue of an arc" syndrome where it's just setting up the interesting things, but I am honestly really interested and sort-of excited to see where this arc is going and where Trinity War takes things.
no subject
Date: 2013-04-18 07:10 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-04-18 09:29 pm (UTC)(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2013-04-19 04:21 am (UTC)(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2013-04-18 07:18 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-04-18 08:19 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-04-18 08:56 pm (UTC)I think what is worst is that they thought the rest of the League wouldn't suspect let alone know about their relationship. That is kinda insulting.
no subject
Date: 2013-04-18 09:30 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-04-18 09:14 pm (UTC)Does Wonder Woman really talk like that? She isn't even as banal in Azzarello's WW (which is supposed to be the same Diana). Sometimes I can't really tell if Johns is a bad writer of dialogue or his heart's not into this whole Diana/Superman "romance". Probably a bit of both?
For the one handling the heavy lifting and introducing this "long-term romance" that is being sold as the biggest thing to ever hit DC, he's writing this couple as romantic as a lead balloon. Heck, Johns has given Superman more chemistry with Batman.
no subject
Date: 2013-04-19 07:24 am (UTC)As for Diana, from the start too, I haven't seen any resemblance between the one Johns writes and the one Azzarello does. Remember when SHE was first introduced in this book, walking around waving her sword in front of people and marveling at this "iced cream" we mortals like? She was like a less Dworkinesque version of ASBAR's WW. Or like the mermaid from SPLASH with a sword.
And poor Steve has been at best an afterthought in both books. In one book she's hooking up with Clark, in another getting all flirty with Orion. Why Diana, you've never been quite so trampy before as these writers are making you seem. ;)
(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:PS
From:Re: PS
From:Mod Note
From:Re: Mod Note
From:PS
From:no subject
Date: 2013-04-19 12:59 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-04-18 09:38 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-04-18 10:32 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-04-20 11:16 pm (UTC)What I want to know is, where went Johns' ability to write Superman? Because it hasn't been exhibited in the whole run of this series. Or rather, that he doesn't seem to be able to connect with THIS version of Superman. Then again, he shares that with, well, most people. This version of Superman is most notable for having very little for the reader OR creator to connect with because a lot of what makes him Superman in most people's minds has been thrown out. The decision to make him more "alien" was not a good one for this reason. A more alien Superman is not a friendly Superman.
no subject
Date: 2013-04-19 12:50 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-04-19 02:22 am (UTC)That, should in no way, be why he has a connection with humanity. He was raised, and might as well have been born on earth, with two incredibly loving human parents, that are too good to be true, he went to school, interacted with others his whole life. His situation is why he should feel connected to the human race. Because he essentially is when we look over his powers. He's not exactly Martian Manhunter.
Yes his powers will definitely make him feel a disconnect from his human brethren, but only so more than any other ultra powerful superhero to be honest. There are a lot more humans out there that have grown with a lot less that he did that still feel the 'connection' with humanity despite their trials.
I understand a lot of fans and writers agree with your stance though, but I just don't see it being as big of an issue as it's made out to be. Disconnect can be there, but it shouldn't be so grossly strong that him dating Wonder Woman would make that disconnect become removal.
Hell... the guy does need a lot more human friends though.
(no subject)
From:PS
From:no subject
Date: 2013-04-19 12:54 am (UTC)As for Batman, as others said he does come off as the one making the most sense by far and I have to ask, why the hell are Supes and Wondy keeping their relationship a secret? Who are they worried is going to find out? If they feel that they have to hide it then why be together? That's a bad sign.
On a side note, I also think I detect a hint of jealousy on Batman's part too. I'm still a Batman/WW shipper so that's my side. For the slashers out there, you know he has eyes for Supes.
no subject
Date: 2013-04-19 10:25 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-04-19 04:16 am (UTC)But then again, the last RHATO issue had Jason crying over how he 'failed' Batman, so apparently Jason IS an ashamed little kid. >:/
no subject
Date: 2013-04-19 04:49 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-04-19 06:10 am (UTC)Alfred gets knocked out = ZOMG I NEED THE JUSTICE LEAGUE ASAP!
no subject
Date: 2013-04-19 01:22 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-04-20 08:19 am (UTC)