Previously, the Grim Reaper attacked the Uncanny Avengers at their press conference, and Rogue accidentally killed him after absorbing an immobilized Wonder Man's powers to fight him.
"...who better to hunt my father than one of his floozies?"
I feel like Havok's whole "I'm ashamed of my identity" thing isn't being helped by the fact that he's now dressing like a sci-fi fascist.
And is Rogue off the team now? Or is she just going to grumpily go along with the investigation thing?
Also Wanda is incredibly unlikable here and I really hope this whole really uncomfortable way the team is going about "assimilating" is due to Red Skull's influence.
I stopped reading this book because it was starting to feel like all of the characters were having a "who's the least likable" contest and everyone was winning.
Oh come on, you can't denounce someone as a hubristic mutant cultist and then sell replicas of his visor as a fashion statement! Havok's got his own wacky headgear, commercialize that.
Wow... So many dislikeable moments in this as a result of some genuinely dislikeable characters (and characters I normally LIKE too)
Wanda really DOESN'T get to throw aspersions around, and throwing the "Magento's floozy" line around does NO ONE any favours.
Oh and Jan, A) as m'learned friend sadoeuphemist pointed out, this is rank hypocrisy and B) as a fashion designer you should surely have been aware of the mutant subculture having their own designers like Jumbo Carnation (Who ended up being murdered for being a mutant)
Janet is being SUCH a problem, all she keeps doing is drawing lines and parallels against the X-men and Avengers.
Wanda, for some reason you have fans, stop making it awkward for them. Ugh, so unlikable. Havok's a tool, when he meets his brother he'll be more of a tool.
Wanda, for some reason you have fans, stop making it awkward for them. To be more accurate: Rick Remender for some reason you have fans, stop makign it awkward for them!
Ah, Thor, please continue to be the only one actually true to your character, and likable at that. Rogue, thank you for trying. Everybody else, thanks for not even trying and keep being unlikable and awful to each other. Especially you, Wanda. Especially, especially you, Janet.
Yes kids! You too can dress like a man who attempted to conquer the world to benefit a small group of people while under the narrowminded impression he was benefitting everyone!
Normally we'd call this fascism, but since the other supposedly heroic people were being fairly unlikeable as well at this point people are more willing to glaze over it.
This team of unappealing assholes can fuck right off. And that really, really annoys me, because I want to read about Rogue and Wasp in particular, but the only place they're popping up is this book, meaning that I'd have to put up with Remender's shitty characterisation. I'm not even sure where he's going with Jan, but it sure as shit doesn't match up to what she was like before, even when Bendis brought her back. Wanda's clearly at her best when indulging in slut-shaming, and at this rate, I'm sure we'll see Rogue back in her 90's 'best' complete with 'ah can't touch people' whining by the end of the year.
God. This is meant to be the headlining book. And not only is it, like, drastically behind, but it seems to be doing huge shit none of the other books seem to care about. Couple that with the crappy characters, why is anyone reading this?
I picked it up because I missed Wanda and Janet as core Avengers, and hated especially the way that Wanda was retooled from barely capable of holding her own in a fight to being the biggest menace on Earth because a) Bendis needed a catalyst and b) women with too much power are always a menace. Sadly, it's the same situation as Batgirl at DC, and probably akin to how fans might be disappointed if Wally, Donna, or Steph were to be brought back: there's no guarantee that the version brought back will reflect in any way the character one cared about.
ahahahaha. Yes Wasp, the difference between being mutant struggling to not die in government concentration camps or get killed by Sentinels while ALSO policing their own kinds misdeeds and being a rich, famous, beloved, government sponsored superhero is just about attitude.
Also, Havok, baby, I know you're too much of a Star Trek villain to have buttons anymore, but you are seriously standing right next to a fashion designer, just ask her to give you a big boy shirt.
I'm not sure how copyright works in the Marvel Universe, but can Wasp just take mutant costumes and sell them as her own like that? It's not like Cyclops is a fan of the Avengers. And the far left piece is what, X-factor era Forge? Didn't the X-men actually kill him last year? Seems like an odd choice for an icon. But, I guess so long as you're profiting off corpses, take the ones whose later disgrace is mostly unknown and have no estate to contest the rights, I guess.
I have no explanation for Wanda, maybe it's another Doombot? Doom seems like he'd go for hypocritical slut-shaming.
From what I understand that wasn't actually Forge, but his alternate universe doppelganger, that they killed. Yes, yet another one of those cases.
Edit - Or, I guess, that could have been just a rumour. And according to google, it was. He's still better, just no doppels. Simply cured from madness by Cable.
Pretty much screw everything/everyone else. Well, maybe not Janet, I actually feel like she could reasonably be considered in character with this craziness. And what with the throwing herself at Havok. Then again, that latter bit makes me happy just because I really like the idea of Hank, Greer, and little William being their own little family unit, so anything that keeps Janet away from that bunch aside from the occasional friendly visit is fine by me.
Y'know, assuming Hank doesn't stay dead after this Age Of Ultron business.
This just seems like the writer wants this group to fail miserably. Not the characters,..but the writer. There's this horrible clashing with all the people that doesn't need to be there, and keeps getting added for drama effect and anger. We get it, they're mutants and powered people trying to work together, but for pities sake stop trying to make them hate each other so much, all the time. And as for Thor,....well he's Thor and he's cool.
Am I the only one really liking this book? I enjoy Wanda and Rouge being dicks to each other. I don't think anyone else is being an asshole really, just those two. I like that Havok represents a distinctly different world view from his brother and I like watching the Avengers villains interact with X-villains.
I also don't really understand why people view Havok's view point on being a minority and assimilation into he larger culture with such shock and horror considering how many emigrant groups in the US followed the assimilation model. You don't have to agree with it, but its not a bizarre position to take.
I also don't really understand why people view Havok's view point on being a minority and assimilation into he larger culture with such shock and horror considering how many emigrant groups in the US followed the assimilation model. You don't have to agree with it, but its not a bizarre position to take. It's not that it's bizarre, it's that the way it was set up, the story frames it as the Right and True way to go; and that by having Alex denouncing the very word of "mutant" and calling it the "m-word" he went pretty extreme with it in a genuinely bizarre (and offensive) way; and then Rick Remender insulted the people who disagreed with what Alex said on twitter.
Which version of X-Force? Though come to think of it, all of them were arguably less dysfunctional than this team. Including the version that had Deadpool in it.
And Cyclops-inspired at that. It's all so bizarre. They'll treat Scott like he's a supervillain and then try to profit off him. I choose to believe this means Jan knows Scott is popular with the people and this "wanted criminal" crap is nonsense.
I do like the art here, I think Havok looks kinda of like David Bowie in that third panel on the last page.
I don't know if it's just me, but this team really seems like they should be the bad guys. With their creepy Nazi-chique leader, talks of cultural appropriation for profit, and denial of any mutant community, they're about one shocking reveal short of being the villains in a classic X-Men story.
Everything about this title is just so gross, and I'm starting to genuinely wonder whether Remender was the right choice for this book. The concepts he's thrown out are pretty good, but his handling of the integration issues have been clumsy at best, his writing of the characters, save Thor, has left them all unlikable, plus I'm not at all happy that in this day and age there's only one non-white character on the team when they have at least three blonde hair blue eyed genetically blessed aryan supermen. I mean, for a book like this I feel like they should have gotten a writer who's got a history with this kind of subject matter and could actually handle things with some tact.
I'm not even a fan of any of these characters (well except for Thor) and even I hate the fact they're written so badly. It looks like Remender is using Chuck Austen references on how to write Jan (remember her out of the blue OCC hook-up with Hawkeye), you would think given all she's been through she would have more on her mind than hooking up with a recently broken-up with Lorna (again? When did this happen?) and occupied on other things Havok?
Speaking of which...Alex is drawn as a James Bond villain and written as Cyclops 2.0 (since they can't use Scott, his brother is the next best thing)?
And Rogue. How often do we have the "heck with this I'm outta here" and going back to the Magneto subplot (is everyone who writes for Marvel a Magneto/Rogue shipper?).
And Wanda. What's was the point of whitewashing the mess that was made of her character and redeeming her (a bit) if they're just going to write her like this. At this point of her development (what with all the no-Mutant thing and almost marrying Doom) shouldn't she be keeping a lower profile? "Floozies"? Really? Ugh.
I kind of wish Wonder Man hadn't had that " Guys, uh.. sorry about the vehemence " moment at the end of Bendis's Avengers just so that he could still be doing his " You're all stupid and horrible and wrong " bit here.
And jeez, Rogue, if you don't really want to be on the team, have grudges against people who are on it, and don't want to hunt down your friends, why are you even ON the team? Seriously, how did they explain why she's on the team? She obviously doesn't want to be there.
Founded by girl geeks and members of the slash fandom, scans_daily strives to provide an atmosphere which is LGBTQ-friendly, anti-racist, anti-ableist, woman-friendly and otherwise discrimination and harassment free.
Bottom line: If slash, feminism or anti-oppressive practice makes you react negatively, scans_daily is probably not for you.
no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 05:22 am (UTC)And is Rogue off the team now? Or is she just going to grumpily go along with the investigation thing?
Also Wanda is incredibly unlikable here and I really hope this whole really uncomfortable way the team is going about "assimilating" is due to Red Skull's influence.
no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 05:28 am (UTC)(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 05:43 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 06:21 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 06:31 am (UTC)Wanda really DOESN'T get to throw aspersions around, and throwing the "Magento's floozy" line around does NO ONE any favours.
Oh and Jan, A) as m'learned friend sadoeuphemist pointed out, this is rank hypocrisy and B) as a fashion designer you should surely have been aware of the mutant subculture having their own designers like Jumbo Carnation (Who ended up being murdered for being a mutant)
no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 01:42 pm (UTC)(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 06:38 am (UTC)Wanda, for some reason you have fans, stop making it awkward for them. Ugh, so unlikable. Havok's a tool, when he meets his brother he'll be more of a tool.
no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 12:46 pm (UTC)To be more accurate: Rick Remender for some reason you have fans, stop makign it awkward for them!
(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 07:05 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 07:37 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 07:49 am (UTC)Normally we'd call this fascism, but since the other supposedly heroic people were being fairly unlikeable as well at this point people are more willing to glaze over it.
no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 08:40 am (UTC)God. This is meant to be the headlining book. And not only is it, like, drastically behind, but it seems to be doing huge shit none of the other books seem to care about. Couple that with the crappy characters, why is anyone reading this?
no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 11:57 am (UTC)(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 09:42 am (UTC)Also, Havok, baby, I know you're too much of a Star Trek villain to have buttons anymore, but you are seriously standing right next to a fashion designer, just ask her to give you a big boy shirt.
I'm not sure how copyright works in the Marvel Universe, but can Wasp just take mutant costumes and sell them as her own like that? It's not like Cyclops is a fan of the Avengers. And the far left piece is what, X-factor era Forge? Didn't the X-men actually kill him last year? Seems like an odd choice for an icon. But, I guess so long as you're profiting off corpses, take the ones whose later disgrace is mostly unknown and have no estate to contest the rights, I guess.
I have no explanation for Wanda, maybe it's another Doombot? Doom seems like he'd go for hypocritical slut-shaming.
no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 10:37 am (UTC)He got better.
From what I understand that wasn't actually Forge, but his alternate universe doppelganger, that they killed. Yes, yet another one of those cases.
Edit - Or, I guess, that could have been just a rumour. And according to google, it was. He's still better, just no doppels. Simply cured from madness by Cable.
(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 12:09 pm (UTC)Pretty much screw everything/everyone else. Well, maybe not Janet, I actually feel like she could reasonably be considered in character with this craziness. And what with the throwing herself at Havok. Then again, that latter bit makes me happy just because I really like the idea of Hank, Greer, and little William being their own little family unit, so anything that keeps Janet away from that bunch aside from the occasional friendly visit is fine by me.
Y'know, assuming Hank doesn't stay dead after this Age Of Ultron business.
no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 05:14 pm (UTC)(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 12:21 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 01:28 pm (UTC)I also don't really understand why people view Havok's view point on being a minority and assimilation into he larger culture with such shock and horror considering how many emigrant groups in the US followed the assimilation model. You don't have to agree with it, but its not a bizarre position to take.
Thor is awesome.
no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 01:50 pm (UTC)It's not that it's bizarre, it's that the way it was set up, the story frames it as the Right and True way to go; and that by having Alex denouncing the very word of "mutant" and calling it the "m-word" he went pretty extreme with it in a genuinely bizarre (and offensive) way; and then Rick Remender insulted the people who disagreed with what Alex said on twitter.
(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 02:17 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 06:05 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 02:44 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 05:15 pm (UTC)(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 02:44 pm (UTC)Remender may be a great writer, but he clearly isn't suitable for a flagship title.
no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 03:58 pm (UTC)(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 03:42 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 05:08 pm (UTC)(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 04:00 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 04:16 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 04:36 pm (UTC)I just want Rogue out of there before Remender makes her as awful as the rest. :(
no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 06:27 pm (UTC)I don't know if it's just me, but this team really seems like they should be the bad guys. With their creepy Nazi-chique leader, talks of cultural appropriation for profit, and denial of any mutant community, they're about one shocking reveal short of being the villains in a classic X-Men story.
Everything about this title is just so gross, and I'm starting to genuinely wonder whether Remender was the right choice for this book. The concepts he's thrown out are pretty good, but his handling of the integration issues have been clumsy at best, his writing of the characters, save Thor, has left them all unlikable, plus I'm not at all happy that in this day and age there's only one non-white character on the team when they have at least three blonde hair blue eyed genetically blessed aryan supermen. I mean, for a book like this I feel like they should have gotten a writer who's got a history with this kind of subject matter and could actually handle things with some tact.
no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 06:54 pm (UTC)Speaking of which...Alex is drawn as a James Bond villain and written as Cyclops 2.0 (since they can't use Scott, his brother is the next best thing)?
And Rogue. How often do we have the "heck with this I'm outta here" and going back to the Magneto subplot (is everyone who writes for Marvel a Magneto/Rogue shipper?).
And Wanda. What's was the point of whitewashing the mess that was made of her character and redeeming her (a bit) if they're just going to write her like this. At this point of her development (what with all the no-Mutant thing and almost marrying Doom) shouldn't she be keeping a lower profile? "Floozies"? Really? Ugh.
no subject
Date: 2013-04-25 09:42 pm (UTC)and I get that might be the point... but there have to be SOME likeable characters, but other than Rogue and Thor, I don't sear any
no subject
Date: 2013-04-26 02:07 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-04-26 03:37 am (UTC)It'd really be a nice accompaniment.
no subject
Date: 2013-04-26 04:09 am (UTC)And jeez, Rogue, if you don't really want to be on the team, have grudges against people who are on it, and don't want to hunt down your friends, why are you even ON the team? Seriously, how did they explain why she's on the team? She obviously doesn't want to be there.