Except the Red Lantern stuff happened in the New 52, to a different version of Supergirl. One who didn't have the is she bad/is she good thing going on.
Looking back at this book, it is kind of weird to realize how wrong it is going. Even as someone who hated it when it first came out and which probably contributed to me being so negative on Kara in general.
The way Kara was brought back already from the start felt lke they wanted to make her feel like a big deal and massive shift in status quo for the DCU. They wanted her to be at the top of hero list, so to speak. However, the way they started to do it was basically establishing that Kara's superior to almost everyone by having her beat up the established heroes. In the very first issues of her own comic. Again, looking back, this feels like a recipe to disaster as it doesn't endear her to the public when their initial step is just to have her step on everyone's favorites.
Yeah, the Loeb way to Super writing is basically to give his characters an excuse to fight with the more popular characters, and then take their stuff.
Here, we see Supergirl out-darkening Raven and using Cassie's lasso against her. That means she's cooler than them, right?
At the time I think I was just a little too jazzed at her being back, when the movie and old silver age comics I got at the flea market had made such an impression on me.
And enjoying some of the conceptual ideas more than the actual storytelling... Having her be an honorary Amazon? Awesome (even if all we really get out of it is a couple moments with Cassie, and sadly the biggest ones being this one and when they bring down Air Force One together when... AMAZONS ATTACK!) The Dark Supergirl thing? Okay well let's see where they're going with it... oh, uh... nowhere? Okay cool...
These reposts are making my perspective shift a bit... while I got tired of every writer flip flopping on the is she/isn't she thing... maybe Loeb wouldn't have brought a satisfying conclusion to it either.
We've all had past runs like that. And to be honest, as much I remembered hating this, even I'm kind of shocked how fundamentally bad Loeb's approach here was. I realize that some of my issues with her character stem from this period as I just loathed the way Loeb tried to make her in to a big thing.
I don't know these characters too well. Is Raven drawing Super Girl into her cloak a similar thing to the powers of Marvel's Cloak from Cloak & Dagger?
Founded by girl geeks and members of the slash fandom, scans_daily strives to provide an atmosphere which is LGBTQ-friendly, anti-racist, anti-ableist, woman-friendly and otherwise discrimination and harassment free.
Bottom line: If slash, feminism or anti-oppressive practice makes you react negatively, scans_daily is probably not for you.
no subject
Date: 2018-02-17 03:12 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2018-02-17 05:11 am (UTC)You know, with all this shit, its kind of not surprising to me she went on to become a Red Lantern.
no subject
Date: 2018-02-17 08:10 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2018-02-17 08:31 am (UTC)The way Kara was brought back already from the start felt lke they wanted to make her feel like a big deal and massive shift in status quo for the DCU. They wanted her to be at the top of hero list, so to speak. However, the way they started to do it was basically establishing that Kara's superior to almost everyone by having her beat up the established heroes. In the very first issues of her own comic. Again, looking back, this feels like a recipe to disaster as it doesn't endear her to the public when their initial step is just to have her step on everyone's favorites.
no subject
Date: 2018-02-17 01:07 pm (UTC)Here, we see Supergirl out-darkening Raven and using Cassie's lasso against her. That means she's cooler than them, right?
...right?
no subject
Date: 2018-02-17 08:16 pm (UTC)And enjoying some of the conceptual ideas more than the actual storytelling... Having her be an honorary Amazon? Awesome (even if all we really get out of it is a couple moments with Cassie, and sadly the biggest ones being this one and when they bring down Air Force One together when... AMAZONS ATTACK!) The Dark Supergirl thing? Okay well let's see where they're going with it... oh, uh... nowhere? Okay cool...
These reposts are making my perspective shift a bit... while I got tired of every writer flip flopping on the is she/isn't she thing... maybe Loeb wouldn't have brought a satisfying conclusion to it either.
no subject
Date: 2018-02-17 10:03 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2018-02-17 08:57 am (UTC)"NO PTERODACTYL TELLS *SUPERGIRL* WHO SHE CAN'T PUNCH!!!"
no subject
Date: 2018-02-18 05:54 pm (UTC)