NS: Black Panther film
Feb. 18th, 2018 01:10 pmAs has been impossible, the cultural phenomenon known as Black Panther hit the majority of theaters this weekend. So I thought why not make a discussion post here on the movie, seeing as it is a major comic book film, and write out some thoughts in an effort to feed my eternal hubris. All the spoilerfic comments will be below the cut, but as a general note I personally thought it was a really good movie, probably among the best Marvel movies I've seen, that fell only a little bit short of being a great movie. Still genuinely cannot recommend it enough for people to see.
Before anything else, a slight demographic point. I'm a white guy from the Nordic countries, which basically means I'm amongst the most the whitest people in the world. So there is a certain emotional connection I will miss in this movie, but it also doesn't mean that my viewpoints on it are somehow more objective. Also you could see the meaning of this movie even here as the ethnic composition of the audience in my showing was noticeably different from a regular superhero flick.
On a more overall level, somethign that truly elevated this movie to me was that it had a strong central concept, probably the strongest in a Marvel movie, in the question of what do you do with power. As it is this really clear concept most of the characters in the movie struglgle wtih, it makes it easy to connect to different viewpoints and character motivations. That along with a lot of strong performances is crucial to the movie as it is really cluttered with so many character and relationships with some of them feeling unnecessary. For example the need for the romantic connection between Okoye and W'Kabi was really baffling. And Freeman's Ross was basically there only to be #NotAllWhitePeople. Still, the whole worked astonishingly well. Then to some more specific thoughts.
-As good as Boseman was as T'Challa, for me Michael B. Jordan just owned this movie. Not only was the character of Killmonger brilliant and completely fitting to the theme of the movie by being the rage born out of Wakanda's inaction, Jordan just gave him such a sense of depth. Even in the silliest moments like the collection of scars, Jordan managed to make it feel menacing. And that scene after ingesting the herb and meeting his dead father was one of the moments that truly elevated this movie for me.
-On a more negative side, I really struggled with Nakia. Not because the actress was bad, far from it, but her character was just kind of there. Out of all the characters in the movie, with the natural exception of Ross, she felt the most aimless and did realyl feel like she was only there ot be the Strong Female Romantic Interest. Which isn't bad in itself, but I think due to the film being so crowded, it really stood out to me more than normal, which in turn soured me more towards her.
-Back to the positive. Okoye was amazing and I feel they did a lot of really strong work in establishing how she was in the film.
-Shuri was mixed bag for me. I liked the actress and I thought the sibling dynamic they set up was really fun. However I somewhat felt they went overboard with her genius which started to detract things to me at a certain point. I get the allure of the 16 year old supergenius, but when you are in a nation you establish as this technologically advanced to begin with and then constantly allege that every piece of supertech brought out was developed by the same 16 year old girl, it starts to feel unnecessary. Not to speak on that apparently she is a medical genius as well. Also the way they ignored when discussing the line of succession was kind of weird, but I think it was a part larger issue that I'll return to later.
-Back to the positive. M'Baku absolutely stole my heart in this move and was just pure awesomeness the moment they entered his lands. My favorite comedic moment in the movie is a tie between the vegetarian moment and the 'Are you done' moment. Okay, on refletion, the latter one wins it. On a more metalevel, M'Baku made me think on Iron Man 3 and the justification for the Mandarin choice as Black basically stated that the Mandarin was basically built on a racial stereotype. The reason this came to my mind was that the way the movie treated M'Baku, and the concerns I had about him the first they showed him, as I felt it showed you can still work with characters that were originally problematic by just finding smart ways to subvert those stereotypes.
-The worst scene in the movie for me, by far, was the Ross's tense simulator chase. First, the stakes there were completely artificial as if Erik won, he would just send another shipment of arms. If T'Challa won, then the shipment would be called back. Second, why would first frame Ross's decision to stay as this dramatic moment, only then to have him complete the mission in such good time that he almost literally just walks away. That moment just killed so much tension for me, but fortunately the perfection that is Michael B. Jordan was the to save it.
-As a sidenote, T'Challa seemed really non-chalant about killing his subjects when the time came for it.
-Seriously, when Killmonger told to bury him at the sea, I think I shed tears.
-As a final note, it felt like a lot of scenes were removed from this movie in order to make it under two hours. There were just a lot of scenes where I felt they skipped something before that. Nothing detracting from the quality, but things that might have provided important context. For example, I would bet money that there was originally a scene between M'Baku and the Queen that would have both expanded the background of the Jabari tribe, which was so confusing, while also further setting up by M'Baku would join T'Challa in the end. Still, my heart just fluttered when I saw M'Baku in the council as no more was needed.
Those were my overly long thoughts on the movie, which I did seriously love. I would also welcome other thoughts and arguments on the movie if people here are willing to share.
Before anything else, a slight demographic point. I'm a white guy from the Nordic countries, which basically means I'm amongst the most the whitest people in the world. So there is a certain emotional connection I will miss in this movie, but it also doesn't mean that my viewpoints on it are somehow more objective. Also you could see the meaning of this movie even here as the ethnic composition of the audience in my showing was noticeably different from a regular superhero flick.
On a more overall level, somethign that truly elevated this movie to me was that it had a strong central concept, probably the strongest in a Marvel movie, in the question of what do you do with power. As it is this really clear concept most of the characters in the movie struglgle wtih, it makes it easy to connect to different viewpoints and character motivations. That along with a lot of strong performances is crucial to the movie as it is really cluttered with so many character and relationships with some of them feeling unnecessary. For example the need for the romantic connection between Okoye and W'Kabi was really baffling. And Freeman's Ross was basically there only to be #NotAllWhitePeople. Still, the whole worked astonishingly well. Then to some more specific thoughts.
-As good as Boseman was as T'Challa, for me Michael B. Jordan just owned this movie. Not only was the character of Killmonger brilliant and completely fitting to the theme of the movie by being the rage born out of Wakanda's inaction, Jordan just gave him such a sense of depth. Even in the silliest moments like the collection of scars, Jordan managed to make it feel menacing. And that scene after ingesting the herb and meeting his dead father was one of the moments that truly elevated this movie for me.
-On a more negative side, I really struggled with Nakia. Not because the actress was bad, far from it, but her character was just kind of there. Out of all the characters in the movie, with the natural exception of Ross, she felt the most aimless and did realyl feel like she was only there ot be the Strong Female Romantic Interest. Which isn't bad in itself, but I think due to the film being so crowded, it really stood out to me more than normal, which in turn soured me more towards her.
-Back to the positive. Okoye was amazing and I feel they did a lot of really strong work in establishing how she was in the film.
-Shuri was mixed bag for me. I liked the actress and I thought the sibling dynamic they set up was really fun. However I somewhat felt they went overboard with her genius which started to detract things to me at a certain point. I get the allure of the 16 year old supergenius, but when you are in a nation you establish as this technologically advanced to begin with and then constantly allege that every piece of supertech brought out was developed by the same 16 year old girl, it starts to feel unnecessary. Not to speak on that apparently she is a medical genius as well. Also the way they ignored when discussing the line of succession was kind of weird, but I think it was a part larger issue that I'll return to later.
-Back to the positive. M'Baku absolutely stole my heart in this move and was just pure awesomeness the moment they entered his lands. My favorite comedic moment in the movie is a tie between the vegetarian moment and the 'Are you done' moment. Okay, on refletion, the latter one wins it. On a more metalevel, M'Baku made me think on Iron Man 3 and the justification for the Mandarin choice as Black basically stated that the Mandarin was basically built on a racial stereotype. The reason this came to my mind was that the way the movie treated M'Baku, and the concerns I had about him the first they showed him, as I felt it showed you can still work with characters that were originally problematic by just finding smart ways to subvert those stereotypes.
-The worst scene in the movie for me, by far, was the Ross's tense simulator chase. First, the stakes there were completely artificial as if Erik won, he would just send another shipment of arms. If T'Challa won, then the shipment would be called back. Second, why would first frame Ross's decision to stay as this dramatic moment, only then to have him complete the mission in such good time that he almost literally just walks away. That moment just killed so much tension for me, but fortunately the perfection that is Michael B. Jordan was the to save it.
-As a sidenote, T'Challa seemed really non-chalant about killing his subjects when the time came for it.
-Seriously, when Killmonger told to bury him at the sea, I think I shed tears.
-As a final note, it felt like a lot of scenes were removed from this movie in order to make it under two hours. There were just a lot of scenes where I felt they skipped something before that. Nothing detracting from the quality, but things that might have provided important context. For example, I would bet money that there was originally a scene between M'Baku and the Queen that would have both expanded the background of the Jabari tribe, which was so confusing, while also further setting up by M'Baku would join T'Challa in the end. Still, my heart just fluttered when I saw M'Baku in the council as no more was needed.
Those were my overly long thoughts on the movie, which I did seriously love. I would also welcome other thoughts and arguments on the movie if people here are willing to share.
no subject
Date: 2018-02-18 07:47 pm (UTC)I also don't care too much for the way the Marvel movies continue to sand off the more distinct shapes of its characters into more conventional adventure story archetypes. So T'Chaka, despite his secret shame, is the film's wise and caring father instead of the comics' realpolitik bastard. And T'Challa is a really conventional protagonist when all is said and done instead of the comics' distant and arrogant man-with-the-plan.
Despite that, I still liked the movie a lot all in all. Highlights include the execution of Wakandan culture and the strong (by Marvel movie standards) sociopolitical subtext.
Though that actually brings up something else that irked me a little. I'm reluctant to mention this because I haven't seen a single other person bring it up, including folks who are a lot closer to these issues than me, so I figure I must be missing something. But is anyone else unhappy that the only two characters who ever engage in anything approaching forceful civil rights activism are the villain and his dad? Wakanda's reluctance to engage is a plot point, obviously, but even in the end when T'Challa decides to get involved, his big plan is... community outreach? That's like the most non-controversial play-it-safe approach there is. There seems to be a faint line being drawn between forceful, genuinely disruptive activism and supervillainy. A *faint* line for sure, but still there... Like I said, I'm probably missing something.
no subject
Date: 2018-02-18 08:15 pm (UTC)Definitely! But to be fair to T'Challa, I could see him being leery of inciting protests just when Wakanda has revealed itself to the world as having super-advanced weaponry and a mountainful of arguably the most powerful substance on Earth. (That's not to say that I hope it doesn't come up somewhere along the line, possibly in the Netflix shows.)
no subject
Date: 2018-02-18 11:45 pm (UTC)Well, that's really the best and non violent way to get things done. Can't punch social progress forward, unfortunately.
no subject
Date: 2018-02-19 12:15 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2018-02-19 04:19 am (UTC)Because arming insurgents has never in the history of the world ever backfired or retroactively turned out to be a bad idea.
As Ross points out, Killmonger is a CIA asset, and while he has gone rogue he still essentially follows the CIA manual. (which is pretty close to real-life supervillainy)
no subject
Date: 2018-02-19 10:46 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2018-02-19 12:42 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2018-02-19 01:35 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2018-02-18 08:01 pm (UTC)Up until Dr. Strange (which seems to start at around the same time as the second Iron Man), I had assumed that the Marvel movies happened more or less in order. Since T'Chaka is dead but Cap doesn't seem to be present in the PB trailers, is it safe to assume that this is all happening in the middle of Civil War?
no subject
Date: 2018-02-18 08:05 pm (UTC)Cap isn't Black Panther.
no subject
Date: 2018-02-18 10:31 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2018-02-19 08:58 pm (UTC)Um, well, in Ultimates 3- *is struck by a bolt of lightning*
no subject
Date: 2018-02-18 08:09 pm (UTC)For me, Nakia serves as the film's moral compass. She's the one arguing for Wakanda to reject its isolationist policies and open its borders and give people aid, in contrast to Okoye's traditionalist views. When she and Okoye clash later in the film, it's Nakia who goes out and saves T'Challa while Okoye (however reluctantly) supports the new monarch. She doesn't reject tradition--she observes all the rituals with the royal family, and she's hesitant to wear the outfit of the Dora Milaje--but she argues that Wakanda is strong enough to keep its way of life and help others. T'Challa comes around to agree with her, through his own character arc, and I think the film does too. And she has a clear purpose, a clear calling, that's true to her nature, to do good, and that she doesn't put aside for anyone--even her royal ex. That's badass and awesome.
I get the allure of the 16 year old supergenius, but when you are in a nation you establish as this technologically advanced to begin with and then constantly allege that every piece of supertech brought out was developed by the same 16 year old girl, it starts to feel unnecessary.
She's sixteen, I highly doubt she came up with all the technology in Wakanda ever. Probably just modified it and improved it where she could (which, given that she's a super-genius, is a lot).
-The worst scene in the movie for me, by far, was the Ross's tense simulator chase. First, the stakes there were completely artificial as if Erik won, he would just send another shipment of arms. If T'Challa won, then the shipment would be called back.
T'Challa could win and call back the ships all he wanted, the people piloting them could very well ignore him and keep going. The arms could still get out of the country to the war dogs--it's vital that the vibranium tech doesn't fall into the wrong hands.
Second, why would first frame Ross's decision to stay as this dramatic moment, only then to have him complete the mission in such good time that he almost literally just walks away.
Good time? The guy had something like two seconds before the glass broke, and he was hauling arse out of there once the job was done.
I think Ross is there to underline the point that Wakanda can't afford to ignore the outside world anymore, with his exposition on N'Jadaka's American background/activities and his specifically targeting the ships headed to the outside world, and to reinforce T'Challa's point about building bridges--but I do see the point about #NotAllWhitePeople. (The scene before with the white lady curator in the British museum was great--as soon as she went, "Oh, you could say that [I'm an expert]", I was just waiting for Killmonger to snark back. In glasses, no less!)
no subject
Date: 2018-02-18 09:35 pm (UTC)On Shuri, I agree that there's probably a lot of tech there Shuri developed, but with one exception every single time they bring up supertech, they directly credit Shuri for it. When she stated that she invented the sonic stabilizers for the trains, I was just rolling my eyes so hard.
On Ross, he had time to take a deep sigh and then go 'I should probably go'. It was so anticlimatic that it was ridiculous. What I hated the most, though, was that you can't frame it as being a serious moment of sacrifice and then just skip the apparent sacrifice. When the computer tells Ross to leave because the shielding is about to give, but Ross making the somber decision to stay in order to stop the transport, which I still claim was a false stake, there has to be a payoff to that other than Ross just sighing about getting it done just in time to leave.
Also I will admit I groaned when Ross started explaining how Killmonger was. It was just stupidly convenient as every CIA agent apparently knows most of the major Spec Unit soldier out there. Even going from the assumption that Killmonger was more notorious, that was just headshake worthy.
As a sidenote, I absolutely loved the British Museum scene.
no subject
Date: 2018-02-18 10:05 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2018-02-19 12:40 pm (UTC)Seriously, if the film had Ross just go 'I worked with his team once' or 'I know of him because he was a part of Klaue's unit', I'd been more than okay with it. Instead we just got that Ross knows of Killmonger because he just does.
no subject
Date: 2018-02-19 01:30 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2018-02-18 09:03 pm (UTC)1. CGI is a bit dodgy in some areas, in particular with the rhinos towards the end.
2. The opening action scene in the jungle was hard to look at. Too jerky and the muzzling flashing constantly hurt my head.
That's pretty much it. See it people!!!
no subject
Date: 2018-02-19 01:40 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2018-02-19 03:38 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2018-02-19 03:42 am (UTC)Killmonger dying felt like a waste, but then again, that is the case for most MCU villains.
I watched it in 3D which lessed the visual effect (it weakens the colours) but the sets, the costuming, etc. were pretty awesome. There were a few nitpicks ("Bast" I get, but Hanuman? WTF?) but overall a good Marvel movie, if a bit on the formulaic side. (though I kind of expect most "first movies" to be that kind of thing)
no subject
Date: 2018-02-19 06:22 pm (UTC)I think it's a reference to the Afro-Indian community. Plus, Hanuman is a badass shapeshifter monkey god who can lift mountains--makes sense the Jabari tribe would follow him.
I didn't know the 3D lessens the colours and now I'm sad. Time to buy another ticket?
no subject
Date: 2018-02-19 03:48 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2018-02-19 04:22 am (UTC)1) The most fight of the hand-to-hand fight scenes were rather subpar for my tastes
2) At one point Killmonger falls for supervillain stupidity and doesn't make sure a character is actually dead or not.
no subject
Date: 2018-02-19 11:45 pm (UTC)We wanted to see something positive and we wasn't disappointed. They hired the right people. Black Panther is a King. Marvel had to do it right. Jack Kirby made the blueprint. Wakanda was just as Cosmic as Zenn-La. Opulent as Asgard. I want Planet Bast!!
Wakanda the Nation was what intrigued me. As far a characters, M'Baku the Man-Ape(!) was the Barometer. If Marvel could redeem him AND have me rooting for that muthfucka by the end of the movie then I'm cool. They were very respectful in bringing the hundreds of Cultures you see represented. Ruth E. Carter is going to win the Oscar for Costume Design. Believe It: https://www.npr.org/2018/02/16/586513016/black-panther-costume-designer-draws-on-the-sacred-geometry-of-africa
RDJr is retiring his Iron Man. Shuri is going to be the new 'Marvel McGuffin Designer'. I think that's awesome!
Great Review!
no subject
Date: 2018-02-20 06:37 am (UTC)Though I do see an inconsistency. How was T'Challa found by a Jabari fisherman if the tribe is vegetarian?
no subject
Date: 2018-02-20 06:13 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2018-02-20 10:45 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2018-02-20 06:35 am (UTC)I also don't like that T'Challa didn't exhibit any Priest-level planning powers and that most of his comic-book scientific genius was given to Shuri. Leticia Wright is absolutely adorable though in the role.
My wild fan speculation: somewhere in a future Avengers film, Shuri is science-bro-ing with Stark and Banner (and Parker?). And she says something along the lines of, "Please, only my mother and brother call me Shuri. My friends call me Riri."
no subject
Date: 2018-02-20 10:46 pm (UTC)This would be awesome.
no subject
Date: 2018-02-20 12:23 pm (UTC)A friend saw Black Panther yesterday at an Alamo Drafthouse, and got this
I feel slightly cheated for not getting to experience that. All we got were some local ads, and trailers for Avengers: Infinity War and Hurricane Heist.
no subject
Date: 2018-02-20 10:50 pm (UTC)Anyway, I was wondering something. Did anybody get if Ross just bought the blade after Klaue and Killmonger stole it, or if he commissioned the theft?
Because if he commissioned it, then he is directly responsible for the murder of a bunch of innocent people at the beginning of the movie. What the hell? Isn’t he supposed to be one of the good guys?
no subject
Date: 2018-02-22 07:38 am (UTC)Now the obvious solution, and I don't mean this to sound petty, is that I just don't write these film discussion posts. That will allow someone who wishes to write the post a week or two after the film comes out an opportunity to make that post. Although, and again this isn't meant as argumentative, with the previous films where I haven't done the discussion post, someone else has done it in the opening weekend or it usually doesn't come out at all. Also, almost all sites have the discussions posts on the opening weekend, they usually just also have follow-up posts that also allow people to participate later.
no subject
Date: 2018-02-22 03:59 pm (UTC)It's true that many sites have both an immediate post and a follow-up post, but those sites generally have thousands of users and hundreds of comments. Scans_Daily is a tiny fraction of the size. Usually even just one post struggles to get 30 comments, split it in two and I'd be surprised if the follow-up gets even ten comments. That's why nobody ever bothers to make a follow-up post.