At the end of the issue the Uncanny team returns. The Stepford Cuckoos and one of the time-displaced original X-Men join them (we don't know who it is, except that it's not young!Cyclops).
It's weird that current Cyclop's dumb X-visor-mask-thing looks like fabric here, I'd figured it was at least as solid as his usual assembly.
Still, it's great to see young Cyclops calling out some people who really deserve it. This premise sounded super dumb, but I've gotta say, what I've seen of the execution has actually be pretty good.
It gives me hope yet that even the most ridiculous concepts can turn into something amazing. And the way everything is going in the MU and DCnU, that's some hope I desperately need.
My guess is that it's going to be Jean, and she's there to be a double agent, like what Logan and the others were suggesting before the Uncanny team got back.
Also, as much as I love Immonen's art, I don't really like how he's drawing the Uncanny Cyclops, specifically his new head gear. I've been interpreting it more as a helmet, and seeing it wrap around the contours of his head here makes it feel like a weird cowl that I don't know quite works.
Nah...I'm almost positive it's going to be young Beast. The structure of how Bendis planned the work so far pretty much demands it...and yet it still seems shocking.
Forget about what's happened in the last couple issues, and go back to the first issue of All New X-men. Who from that issue would have been the most sympathetic to Cyclops cause? The story literally starts out with Young Beast voicing Modern Cyclops POV.
Who of the 05 has been the most critical of the repercussions of Modern Beast's actions on the time continuum? Young Beast.
Out of general curiosity, is there a reason that the original five haven't been sent back to their own time, since travelling into your own future CAN'T be a good idea.
Given how much I used to love Beast, it's getting to the point where it's quite nice to see him called out on some of his actions.
From what I remember, the O5 are basically still in the modern day due to sheer teen-aged stubbornness. They want to learn from the best and try to help out this horrific future that is coming from them.
Basically, the O5 (with the exception of Teen Warren) refuse to go back because they know that once they do, Xavier will erase all their memories of them being in the future. They believe that, if this is what their future will be and thus no way to change what will happen, they would much rather stay and fix things as they are now BEFORE going back to their own time. Even though, yes, the longer they stay, the more their own existence is jeopardized.
I am just going to say it. I agree with Scott. I've agreed for awhile. He is a jerk but he has a realistic image and future for mutants, and yeah, was the guy with a real plan and moved on it to save his freaking people.
As for the Xavier issue, he not only laid out his case, and is right that no one thinks he willingly killed Xavier. Hes met only with hypocrits (Avengers with mass genocidist Wanda) or people who can only seem to act shocked (above). The Avengers have been apologists for forever on the mutant issue. Enablers and/or just overlooking American and other sentinel programs.
Okay, so this is why they were brought here. YoungScott was supposed to confront OldScott. (notice OldScott's total lack of interest in the fact his younger self is there) this is what this has been dragging on for.
And then...this?
Really?
I was giving this book a chance because honestly I'll take my Immonen where I can get it, and it was an intriguing premise.
And now it's dragged on to a total anticlimax and will keep dragging and frankly, I'm bored with it, so I think I'll just go back to my usual policy of ignoring the X-Men entirely.
that's why BEAST brought them here. that is not ( not have I ever thought) what the writer intended. I think the real confrontation is going to be between the young crew and Beast who is totally pretty much doing what both Cyclops es were saying
Didn't it turn out that some evil force or person controlled and drove Wanda to doing the fucked up things she's done? Yet still she gets shit for it and no one bats an eye yet..Scott kills Prof. X due to the Phoenix Force and wow it's a different story then isn't it?
Yeah, but I think the Wanda thing was a retcon, and a dumb one at that, whereas Scott was definitively not in control of his actions from the start, so from an audience perspective Scott's innocence seems more "genuine". With Wanda I find it comes off as a kind of half-assed, if understandable, attempt to rehabilitate her character.
AAAAAAAGGGGGHHH, GODDAMMIT SCOTT, CAN I READ ONE ISSUE WITHOUT WANTING TO STRANGLE YOU.
"We tried being messangers ... we tried being pacifists ... we tried being god-like dictators who ruled the world until we went insane with the power ... "
And sure, I'll ask Hank how you ended up with the Phoenix. It was after Tony tried a desperate ploy to stop the mass-murdering cosmic force that was bearing down on earth after your little gamble was failing to pay off.
That's why I simply cannot understand why both fans and the story itself act like both sides have valid points. Scott does not take even a sliver of responsibility for anything he did, even before he was Phoenix'd, and acts like he's some sort of noble saviour for trying to deal with the aftermath. If he admitted that he made mistakes and that he made things worse for mutants, and he was trying to atone for that, that'd be a different thing. But every single one of the P5 except Colossus just waltz off from the steaming wreckage of AvX without learning a damn thing.
So, no, Scott, you're the villain in this story. Deal with it. *sunglasses*
... what is Scot wearing? Didn't know Cyclops eyes were X shape...
Really...with everything in the lives of the X-Men, Scott, now more than ever, is insisting of being warriors for Mutant kind... they're "species" are making a come back and now everything is... sort of, back to square one for them... even under Obama's charge?
Sorry, this seems alot like OMIT, where is screws around with time and leads to a uproar change that would be in effect for a year or two before it starts to weigh back the status quo... in fact: that a good counter argument to "present" Scott's argument: no matter how good or bad mutants are being treated, as a species or individuals: somehow everything works back to the way it was, mostly by how they stick together. Natural Born Mutant Babies: Something bad always seems to happen. Teammates dying/turning evil: Coming back alive and turning good again. Something alters their powers, they go back. (Heck, Hank somehow did that with his 3rd mutation with his past self in less than a day when it probably took years with just himself). Everything cause by Wanda's bouts with insanity: Pretty much fixed... even after they went on to say "no more mutants ever" in alternate universe and weird machines that can sense the future, when though the future has be alter SO many-YOU GET THE IDEA! Present Scott has gone nutso, and I think it is because he has grown to have authority, much like the Guardians of the Universe in Green Lantern: And with authority, they instantly become EVIL!
Scott does have perfectly valid reasons for his actions, but he's just throwing fuel into the fire. The whole mutant conflict is due to everyone fearing that a war for supremacy and genocide is inevitable. Scott and his allies seem to agree with that. Scott calling his new school the Xavier Institute is a little ironic since he gave up on Xavier's dream.
Logan's got a lot of issues, and he arguably doesn't have any right to judge Scott, but he at least is trying to take the more idealistic route.
That said, Scott has every right to call out Hank. What the heck was he thinking, bringing a team of past X-men to the present? Haven't the X-Men dealt with enough time-travel crap to realize this won't end well?
Scott apparently plans to fight for mutants no matter where they are in the world. I don't see the problem with that. It's not like not making waves has ever helped mutants. The enemies of the mutants will strike eventually, and it only makes sense to be ready when they do.
I'm actually surprised by Bendis's writing here, as I was for some reason expecting him to favor the Avengers a lot more in his interpretation, even after having read his interviews. Yet he seems to treat what happened as a complicated matter, which it should be treated, and calling out the actions of other people involved in the situation.
The story here doesn't seem to absolve Scott in his actions, and Bendis himself has written several times Scott taking responsibility of it, but it adds those layers in to it and points out what others, especially Tony Stark, did to add to the situation without ever having to face any other consequences except a playful smirk. It also doesn't just give free passes to Beast or Wolverine for their actions. For me it adds a lot to all the characters and makes it interesting to read.
If it isn't young Beast who joins Scott's crew, I'll be very surprised. It seemed set up that way from the first issue. I think young Hank knows his older self is full of it.
I'm confused. Does Scott believe he is responsible for killing Xavier or not? He's quick to accept punishment for it, but he's just as quick to blame other people for "making" him do it. The first words out of his mouth after he killed Xavier were him blaming Captain America for it.
Not to say that his accusers are right to pin ALL of the blame on him. But it's understandable: other people might have given him the gun and the motivation, but he's the one who ultimately pulled the trigger.
He knows he killed Xavier. Becuase uh, yeah, obviously he did.
He knows it wasn't his fault and it wasn't him in control.
He knows his former friends are blaming him regardless, even though they know the above, and he's telling them to kill him if they really think he killed Xavier on PURPOSE. It was Captain America's fault, well Tony. But Cap told him to make the damn machine.
And pulling the trigger when your mind can't choose not to is a pretty unfair thing to do.
I do have to say that the aftermath titles for Avengers vs. X-Men (which I hated) have actually gotten me interested in Scott again for the first time in years.
I find that happens, strangely, when horrible events go down involving Cyclops lately. Both seem to start with Kierron Gillen. His Uncanny X-Men run and Consequences respectfully saved my hope for the X-Men title and stopped Cyclops' character from being completely destroyed.
Founded by girl geeks and members of the slash fandom, scans_daily strives to provide an atmosphere which is LGBTQ-friendly, anti-racist, anti-ableist, woman-friendly and otherwise discrimination and harassment free.
Bottom line: If slash, feminism or anti-oppressive practice makes you react negatively, scans_daily is probably not for you.
no subject
Date: 2013-04-03 10:14 pm (UTC)-(we don't know who it is, except that it's not young!Cyclops).-
I'm guessing Angel, who's had the weirdest time of things.
no subject
Date: 2013-04-04 02:06 am (UTC)(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2013-04-03 10:23 pm (UTC)Still, it's great to see young Cyclops calling out some people who really deserve it. This premise sounded super dumb, but I've gotta say, what I've seen of the execution has actually be pretty good.
no subject
Date: 2013-04-03 11:45 pm (UTC)(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2013-04-04 12:41 am (UTC)(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2013-04-03 10:24 pm (UTC)Also, as much as I love Immonen's art, I don't really like how he's drawing the Uncanny Cyclops, specifically his new head gear. I've been interpreting it more as a helmet, and seeing it wrap around the contours of his head here makes it feel like a weird cowl that I don't know quite works.
no subject
Date: 2013-04-03 10:33 pm (UTC)(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2013-04-04 01:23 am (UTC)Forget about what's happened in the last couple issues, and go back to the first issue of All New X-men. Who from that issue would have been the most sympathetic to Cyclops cause? The story literally starts out with Young Beast voicing Modern Cyclops POV.
Who of the 05 has been the most critical of the repercussions of Modern Beast's actions on the time continuum? Young Beast.
(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2013-04-03 10:39 pm (UTC)Given how much I used to love Beast, it's getting to the point where it's quite nice to see him called out on some of his actions.
no subject
Date: 2013-04-03 10:47 pm (UTC)(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2013-04-03 10:50 pm (UTC)(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2013-04-04 01:24 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-04-03 11:45 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-04-04 12:20 am (UTC)As for the Xavier issue, he not only laid out his case, and is right that no one thinks he willingly killed Xavier. Hes met only with hypocrits (Avengers with mass genocidist Wanda) or people who can only seem to act shocked (above). The Avengers have been apologists for forever on the mutant issue. Enablers and/or just overlooking American and other sentinel programs.
Scott is right.
no subject
Date: 2013-04-04 02:50 am (UTC)(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2013-04-04 02:28 am (UTC)And then...this?
Really?
I was giving this book a chance because honestly I'll take my Immonen where I can get it, and it was an intriguing premise.
And now it's dragged on to a total anticlimax and will keep dragging and frankly, I'm bored with it, so I think I'll just go back to my usual policy of ignoring the X-Men entirely.
no subject
Date: 2013-04-04 03:21 am (UTC)(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2013-04-04 02:41 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-04-04 03:13 am (UTC)(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2013-04-04 05:23 am (UTC)"We tried being messangers ... we tried being pacifists ... we tried being god-like dictators who ruled the world until we went insane with the power ... "
And sure, I'll ask Hank how you ended up with the Phoenix. It was after Tony tried a desperate ploy to stop the mass-murdering cosmic force that was bearing down on earth after your little gamble was failing to pay off.
That's why I simply cannot understand why both fans and the story itself act like both sides have valid points. Scott does not take even a sliver of responsibility for anything he did, even before he was Phoenix'd, and acts like he's some sort of noble saviour for trying to deal with the aftermath. If he admitted that he made mistakes and that he made things worse for mutants, and he was trying to atone for that, that'd be a different thing. But every single one of the P5 except Colossus just waltz off from the steaming wreckage of AvX without learning a damn thing.
So, no, Scott, you're the villain in this story. Deal with it. *sunglasses*
no subject
Date: 2013-04-04 06:14 am (UTC)(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2013-04-04 06:02 am (UTC)Really...with everything in the lives of the X-Men, Scott, now more than ever, is insisting of being warriors for Mutant kind... they're "species" are making a come back and now everything is... sort of, back to square one for them... even under Obama's charge?
Sorry, this seems alot like OMIT, where is screws around with time and leads to a uproar change that would be in effect for a year or two before it starts to weigh back the status quo... in fact: that a good counter argument to "present" Scott's argument: no matter how good or bad mutants are being treated, as a species or individuals: somehow everything works back to the way it was, mostly by how they stick together.
Natural Born Mutant Babies: Something bad always seems to happen.
Teammates dying/turning evil: Coming back alive and turning good again.
Something alters their powers, they go back. (Heck, Hank somehow did that with his 3rd mutation with his past self in less than a day when it probably took years with just himself).
Everything cause by Wanda's bouts with insanity: Pretty much fixed... even after they went on to say "no more mutants ever" in alternate universe and weird machines that can sense the future, when though the future has be alter SO many-YOU GET THE IDEA! Present Scott has gone nutso, and I think it is because he has grown to have authority, much like the Guardians of the Universe in Green Lantern: And with authority, they instantly become EVIL!
no subject
Date: 2013-04-04 01:43 pm (UTC)With great power, there must also come... EVIL!
Scott hasn't gone "Kill all humans" yet, but he's getting there.
(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2013-04-04 01:32 pm (UTC)Logan's got a lot of issues, and he arguably doesn't have any right to judge Scott, but he at least is trying to take the more idealistic route.
That said, Scott has every right to call out Hank. What the heck was he thinking, bringing a team of past X-men to the present? Haven't the X-Men dealt with enough time-travel crap to realize this won't end well?
no subject
Date: 2013-04-04 02:32 pm (UTC)(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2013-04-04 01:53 pm (UTC)The story here doesn't seem to absolve Scott in his actions, and Bendis himself has written several times Scott taking responsibility of it, but it adds those layers in to it and points out what others, especially Tony Stark, did to add to the situation without ever having to face any other consequences except a playful smirk. It also doesn't just give free passes to Beast or Wolverine for their actions. For me it adds a lot to all the characters and makes it interesting to read.
no subject
Date: 2013-04-04 01:57 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-04-05 04:48 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-04-04 05:13 pm (UTC)Not to say that his accusers are right to pin ALL of the blame on him. But it's understandable: other people might have given him the gun and the motivation, but he's the one who ultimately pulled the trigger.
no subject
Date: 2013-04-04 05:37 pm (UTC)He knows it wasn't his fault and it wasn't him in control.
He knows his former friends are blaming him regardless, even though they know the above, and he's telling them to kill him if they really think he killed Xavier on PURPOSE. It was Captain America's fault, well Tony. But Cap told him to make the damn machine.
And pulling the trigger when your mind can't choose not to is a pretty unfair thing to do.
(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2013-04-04 06:07 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-04-04 06:16 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-04-04 10:49 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-04-06 03:26 pm (UTC)